NBCSA Home PageNBCSA LinksNBCSA Contact Us

 
HISTORY of NBCSA
 
Our own industry funded Construction Safety Training
association has finally become a reality.
 

It was a six year struggle to establish the New Brunswick Construction Safety Association (NBCSA), making us one of the last three provinces in Canada to have its own construction safety training association. However, several years prior to our formal establishment, the founding committee of NBCSA was (and remains) active in the Canadian Federation of Construction Safety Associations. This is a national body working to achieve safety training course standards, cooperative recognition of each provincial association's "Certificates of Recognition" and worker's course certificates across the country.

Following initial meetings with CANB, NB Road Builders, NB Home Builders, Atlantic Provinces Ready Mix Concrete Association and Labour representatives, all agreed the construction industry should fund, develop, and set the standard for its own construction safety training. This training is to be made available at the lowest possible cost to all construction workers in the province. The agreement to form the NB Construction Safety Association was born.

An agreement was reached with WorkSafeNB for funding of the association. A levy sufficient to fund a portion of the Association’s overhead has been put in place. Any company that pay’s WorkSafeNB under 4000 group of codes that are related to the construction industry are automatically members of NBCSA. With this levy in place NBCSA is able to offer courses to its membership at or near cost.

All of our courses are reviewed by WorkSafeNB to ensure they meet the Act and Regulations for New Brunswick.

______________________________________
New Brunswick Construction Safety Association
P.O. Box 731 Miramichi, NB E1V 3V4
Tel: (506) 627-1477 Fax: (506) 624-9581

NBCSA Home PageNBCSA LinksNBCSA Contact Us
 
HISTORIQUE DE LA NBCSA
 
Nous avons enfin notre propre Association de formation à la sécurité en construction, financée par l’industrie .
 

La lutte pour obtenir notre propre association de formation à la sécurité en construction aura duré plus de six ans; nous sommes parmi les trois dernières provinces au Canada à former une telle association. L’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et la Colombie-Britannique se retrouvent encore sans association spécifique de formation en construction, bien que ces deux provinces participent à la Canadian Federation of Construction Safety Associations. Il s’agit d’un organisme national qui travaille à établir des normes au niveau des cours de formation en sécurité et une reconnaissance coopérative des « certificats de compétences » de chaque association provinciale ainsi que des certificats de cours pour travailleurs partout au Canada.

Suite aux premières réunions entre l’Association de la construction du N.-B., la NB Road Builders, l’Association des constructeurs d’habitations, l’Association des fabricants de béton préparé des provinces atlantiques et les représentants syndicaux, tous étaient d’accord pour dire que la formation à la sécurité en construction dans la province doit être financée, élaborée et mise en oeuvre par l’industrie de la construction. Cette formation doit être disponible à tous les travailleurs en construction de la province, et ce, au plus bas prix possible. C’est ainsi qu’est née l’entente pour former la NB Construction Safety Association.

Une entente a été conclue avec la CSSIAT pour le financement de l’Association. Un système de rentes est en place pour payer les frais généraux de l’Association. Toute entreprise qui paie des cotisations à la Commission des accidents du travail en vertu de l’un des codes de construction du groupe 4000 (reliés à l’industrie de la construction) est automatiquement membre de la NBCSA. Grâce à ce système de rentes, la NBCSA peut offrir des cours à ses membres à prix coûtant ou presque.

Tous nos cours sont révisés par la CSSIAT pour assurer qu’ils sont conformes à la Loi et aux règlements pour le Nouveau-Brunswick.

______________________________________
New Brunswick Construction Safety Association
P.O. Box 731 Miramichi, NB E1V 3V4
Tel: (506) 627-1477 Fax: (506) 624-9581